Ever seen that show on ABC titled “What would you do?” You know the one when they put people in crazy awkward situations and see what would the people around them do?  The subjects are usually actors placed in real life settings to gauge the reactions and actions of regular citizens. I have attached a video from an episode dealing with discrimination. The video is kind of long, if you don’t have a lot of time then skip to the 4:00 minute mark. Basically someone is trying to apply for work, and is denied. The most stunning and embarrassing part; there are 3 different, Human Resource people, who witness the discrimination and what they do next is totally shocking!

We try to teach diversity and nondiscrimination but are we practicing it?  I’ve experienced a dose of insensitivity from someone on Twitter.  Someone I follow as part of my professional HR network. They sent a tweet that was very, very offensive. If I followed 50 Cent, Lil Wayne or Snoop Dog, I would have been ready for it, but this is supposed to be HR Professionals. Yeah, I said it. What happens in this video is no different; very insensitive, embarassing and unprofessional, especially from Human Resources.  Not all folks in Human Resources discriminate and are insensitive, just the ones in this video and that one on Twitter.

video here

